“Paolo Piovesan” Study award

2023 Engineering for fusion research

“Paolo Piovesan” Study award 2023

closing date 31/12/2023

The Consorzio RFX, to remember PAOLO PIOVESAN, a researcher of the Consortium who died prematurely in 2019, announces a


for the award of a prize of 2000 EURO for the best doctoral thesis.

This year, 2023, the prize will be awarded to the best PhD thesis in the field of the Engineering of Controlled Fusion.

Paolo Piovesan (1972-2019) was a researcher of the RFX Consortium who, during his career, achieved important and significant results in the field of Plasma Physics.

Particularly brilliant as a Physics student, Paolo immediately distinguished himself for his qualities by winning the EPS prize in 2006 for the best PhD thesis in Plasma Physics. Subsequently, he became a researcher at the RFX Consortium, where he was particularly active in various international collaborations and was appreciated both in the scientific community of RFP plasmas (he collaborated with the MST groups at the University of Wisconsin, EXTRAP-T2R in Stockholm and TPE-RX in Tokyo) and in the Tokamak community (he successfully led several experiments in ASDEX-U in Munich, and in DIII-D in San Diego).

Paolo had not only a great talent and a natural predisposition for research but also a special ability to motivate people to work in a team and to exchange ideas. His example will forever remain in the hearts and minds of the many students he mentored and fellow researchers with whom he worked. He will always be remembered for his open and positive character that made him have a smile for everyone even in the most difficult situations.

Previous editions

  • Paolo Piovesan Study Award 2022: The winner of the award was Francesco Sciortino with the thesis “Experimental Inference of Particle Transport in Tokamak Plasmas”
  • Paolo Piovesan Study Award 2021
  • Paolo Piovesan Study Award 2020: The winner of the award was Roberto Maurizio with the thesis “Investigating Scrape-Off Layer transport in alternative divertor geometries on the TCV tokamak”